Skip to main content

About Us

Learn all about the COSCO Organization, its History, Executive and Constitution.

Advocacy Education Campaigns

Established in 1950, the Council of Senior Citizens’ Organization (COSCO) is an umbrella organization made up of many seniors’ organizations and individual associate members. Registered under the Societies Act since 1981, COSCO has grown and now represents approximately 80,000 seniors in British Columbia.

COSCO is run by volunteers, with activities coordinated through an elected Board of Directors.

Our mandate is to promote the well-being of seniors and their families, advocating for policies that allow seniors to remain active, independent, and fully engaged in the life of our province. The organization is non-partisan, but politically active, advocating for seniors’ needs no matter who is in power.

Affiliated with the BC Centre for Policy Alternatives, the BC Health Coalition, the BC Public Interest Advocacy Centre and the National Pensioners’ Federation, COSCO directors and members collaborate with others in a common cause.

COSCO'S Purpose

(excerpt from the constitution)

To assemble, co-ordinate and advance proposals and resolutions concerned with the welfare of elder citizens, and submit them to the appropriate government bodies; and to advance the social and physical welfare of all elder citizens in the province of British Columbia.

COSCO Executive (2024-2025)

Board Members

Leslie Gaudette
Langley Seniors in Action (LSA)

Barb Mikulec
BC Retired Teachers Assn. (BCRTA)
(First Vice-President)

Terri van Steinburg
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Retirees Assn.
(Second Vice-President)

Albert Lemonnier
International Longshore & Warehouse Union (ILWU)

Stéphane Lapierre
Carrefour 50+

Linda Forsythe
Voices of Burnaby Seniors (VOBS)
(Membership Secretary)

General Vice-Presidents

Wilf Brodrick
BC Government Retired Employees Assn. (BCGREA)

Don Bayne
BC Old Age Pensioners Organization (BCOAPO)

Barb Mikulec
BC Retired Teachers Assn. (BCRTA)

Diane Wood
BC Federation of Retired Union Members (BC FORUM)


Jerry Gosling
BC Old Age Pensioners Org. (BCOAPA)

Patrick Harkness
BC Government Retired Employees’ Association (BCGREA)

Marion Hartley
South Vancouver Seniors Hub Council

Agnes Jackman

Barry Jones
Canadian National Pensioners Assn.

Rod McIvor
Canadian National Pensioners Assn.

Jean Sickman
BC Government Retired Employees’ Association (BCGREA)

Committee Chairs

Wilf Brodrick
Chair – Finance Committee

Terri van Steinburg
Chair – Income Security Committee

Leslie Gaudette
Chair – Strategic Planning and Priorities Committee

Jerry Gosling
Chair – Transportation Committee

Anthony Kupferschmidt
Chair – Membership and Fundraising Committee

Louise Holland
Chair – Health Committee

Barb Mikulec
Chair – Housing Committee

Linda Forsythe
Chair – Communications Committee

Agnes Jackman
Chair – Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee


COSCO Brochure

Download PDF

COSCO Policy Book

Download PDF